Skip to content
May 19, 2009 / Steven Pousty

PET scan done (aka Cancer has a sugar addiction)

Today I had the PET scan. The basic idea is that I fast and then they inject me with radioactive sugar. I take a nap for 45 minutes, wake up, lie on a big spinning magnet for a half hour and then they take some images. Since cancer cells LOVE sugar they tend to stand out in the photos. I got to sneak a peak and I didn’t see any bright areas except around my armpit – so if I read it right that would put me in stage 1 or late stage 2. What I was really glad to see was no glowing liver or spleen. Another cool part was since the brain is constantly chewing carbs my brain was all lit up as was my bladder as my body worked to rid me of the isotopes.

The one drawback, I am mildly radioactive for the next 6 hours. So, for example, if I had a long drive with someone I would have to sit in the back of the car. On the other hand there is a chance I could have been mutated and now I am super hero!

and a musical selection in honor of todays events.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Terry / May 20 2009 2:49 am

    I, like so many others, am sorry to hear about your situation but glad that the prognosis is good. I have thus far managed to evade The Big C but, like most people, it has impacted my life and my loved ones on occasion. Cancer tends to rate pretty high on the suckometer, but it sounds like you and yours have a good outlook on things.

    I have to ask, though – are you leaning more toward a Spider-Man sort of situation, or something more along the lines of the Incredible Hulk? If you have a choice, I’d recommend the Spider-Man option. While there would be advantages to going the Hulk route, waking up in strange places wearing nothing but shredded purple pants can really put a damper on an otherwise enjoyable weekend.

    Best wishes,

    Terry

  2. Steven Citron-Pousty / May 20 2009 7:39 am

    I am most definitely going towards spiderman – I have done enough of the uncontrolled rage to know that is sucks. Thankfully I do not have that experience of waking up in shredded pants not knowing where I am, though there was that one weekend in… oh nevermind.
    Thanks Terry and keep writing on your blog!

  3. Ragi / May 26 2009 12:45 pm

    Huh??? Waking up in the middle of nowhere, not knowing where you are, with your clothes torn, and destruction all around you means it is the day after a good party. Hulk all the way.

  4. Steven Citron-Pousty / May 26 2009 4:41 pm

    Ragi, that is very funny – thanks for a great laugh

  5. Lise / Nov 2 2014 8:05 am

    Well, if SUGAR IS FOOD to cancer cells, why the hell would they give this to cancer patients????

    • Steven Citron-Pousty / Dec 3 2014 11:17 pm

      They are trying to get the radioactive material to the cancer and make it “light up” on the images. The best way to get the material there is to attach it to sugar so cancer takes it up more than other body tissue. It is only a small injection but it does a great job picking up if there are cancer cells in your body

Leave a Reply

