Skip to content
November 1, 2006 / Steven Pousty

Yet another obvious rip-off on the MC commercial

Cost of over 6 years of maintenance and purchase for ArcGIS: more than $6000

Time it takes for ArcGIS 9.1 to try and dissolve 11K features and then fail: over 6 hours

Time to export 11k polygons to a shapefile: 4 minutes
Time it takes ArcView 3.3 to dissolve  11k polygons: 1.5 minutes

Feeling it gives you when the software that is end of lifed with no maintenance costs beats the pants off ArcGIS: priceless

Remind me again why I am not doing all my habitat modeling in ArcView 3.3?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Felix / Nov 2 2006 2:46 am

    Great. I love that.
    It’s brilliant. All ESRI executives should have this tatooed on their forehead.
    Only that I do hate ArcView just the same…
    Avenue drove me insane…
    Anyway…

    Cheers
    Felix

  2. Alison / Dec 17 2007 8:09 pm

    I find it very strange that ‘I hate arcview’ only yields six results in google.

Leave a Reply

